Most Valued Possessions?

Apple Cider with her azure whelp and Explorer title.
Sparked by discussion surrounding today’s debut of the Guardian Pet in Blizzard’s store, people started talking about what makes something worth collecting. A lot of people feel that the Guardian Pet isn’t worth the money because in-game pets and by extension, other items, require a story or experience to make them significant. Buying it from a store just to add to a pet collection doesn’t make them valued. I disagree to some extent, but this isn’t the focus of my post. My real thoughts are around what I value most in-game. I know that I have quite a collection of valued stuff, across a couple of characters that I’ve played for years now.

My mage is easily my oldest character and by extension, most of my real “valuable” things are attached to her. Things like my Eye of Flame (my first actual epic in game, back in vanilla, when epics were scarce if you weren’t into raiding), and my Swift Purple Riding Ram, “Bunny”, the first epic mount I ever bought after grinding tons and tons of runecloth and Alterac Valley for the Ironforge rep.  The time spent on those back in my formative years put those squarely in my personal possession hall of fame. Other things tend to be a little more abstract or personal when it comes to why they are valued by me. As seen in the graphic above, my Azure Whelp is dear to me because of the story behind it and of who it symbolizes. My “Explorer” title is because it reminds me of when I used to wall-walk all around the world and stayed level 40 for months because I was too busy peering into places I wasn’t supposed to be. I got World Explorer 2 days into Wrath, in spite of not having flying or being level-capped and I consider it a badge of pride that far exceeds even some of my raiding accomplishments. I could go on and on about all the things I love (my original ZA bear, my Captured Firefly on my priest) but it’d take more than one post to get into it.

My question is this: what are your most valuable possessions in-game? Are they titles? Pets? Maybe a gray item in your bank with a great story? Tell me here in the comments or Tweet @applecidermage with your answers.

5 responses

  1. Like you, I’m mainly concerned with the memories behind a thing, rather than the coolness of the thing in question. I love my original ZA bear because I was a part of the second team on the server to get them. I love my Bristleblitz Striker because (again) we were the second guild on the server to kill Archimonde *and* it dropped off the second kill *and* I bid all 100 of my (capped) DKP *and* two other hunters did as well *and* when we all rolled off for it I rolled a 92. I took a screenshot of myself with that bow in front of Archi’s empty loin-thingy and posted it to LJ. Finally, and relatedly, I love my Hand of A’dal title because again, second guild on the server to get ’em.

    Actually, it’s not *just* the server-second-ness. It’s that I have so many great memories of my time with that guild in BC. It was a perfect storm of friendliness, camaraderie, and the fun of raiding together.

    I haven’t quite replicated that feeling since, but I’ve been working on it.

  2. It’s definitely the memories for me too.
    My Benediction is precious, not because I was the second Priest on my then server but because of how I got it. I didn’t have an eye of shadow because Kazzak was essentially farmed by one guild on the server so when I got the eye of divinity I was excited yes but I didn’t have high hopes of making the staff any time soon. It was after midnight when we finished raiding and when someone suggested we do a spot of demonslaying in Winterspring to see if we got lucky, I thought we would kill a few and then go to bed.

    4 am saw a small band of people, mostly fellow Priests still smiting elite demons. At 4.30 am we were going to call it. The drop chance was slight and most people had to get up in a few hours. However as we were leaving, we aggroed one more mob which to my amazement had the eye lurking in it’s pockets.

    A quick trip to EPL later and the same people watched me run about killing invisible mobs, cheering me on. By 5am I was back in IF with my new shiny staff.

    When transmogrification gets added, I’ll be moging my staff into benediction as a thank you to those awesome Priests and friends who stayed up all night to help me get it in the first place.

  3. All of my cool stuff is on old characters, since goblins were so great I switched to one in Cataclysm forever.

    I got that purple judgement armor on my goblin warrior, so when 4.3 hits I’ll be able to pretend to be a goblin paladin.

  4. I would say …. one specific title. My druid’s Hand of A’dal title. It refers back to TBC times, when we were at the top of raiding on our server, and my best tanking moments I ever had. Those memories will live on forever.

    I don’t have all that many Feats of Strength, and that one carries a real special place in my heart.

Speak out!

